Vermont Department of Libraries

May 16, 2008

Thanks to and for VLC2008

Filed under: VT Library Conference — Tags: — vtdeptlib @ 3:48 pm

Although some of you may have heard me do some whining about exhibit baby-sitting duty at the conference, it was a choice that I do not regret. I did miss some wonderful sessions, but I am getting caught up with the handouts on the conference web site. I also have this wonderful collage of impressions of the sessions that I got when I would ask people to tell me their favorite thing about the conference. Other peoples accounts of an event are often as interesting to me as the events themselves.

I especially want to get in a few thanks to folks who really brightened up my conference:

  • My DOL colleagues who did their stints at the exhibit with me, especially Teresa Faust who stuck in there during the quiet times and, as always, had plenty of good cheer and humor to contribute to the conversation.
  • Kit Greening our WebJunction Partner Development Manager who came to the conference to spend some time with us at the exhibit and to get us thinking about the changes that will be coming on Webjunction later this summer
  • Jean Fournier from St. Johnsbury Academy who always lifts my spirits and has such interesting things to discuss.
  • Larraby Fellows who was kind to cheer me on for setting up the VLC2008 Flickr group and to encourage the VLC2008 tagging. Some photos other than my own have started showing up and Larraaby tells me that we should also be seeing the photos taken by the “official” conference photographer.
  • Jerry Carbone for the brief but very useful conversation that we had about the linux public access workstations in his library, Brooks Memorial in Brattleboro, and about his library using TechAtlas to do their technology planning.
  • Marjorie Shane for getting tracking down our paperwork for the exhibit and staying on it with the conference Internet provider to get my connection up and running.
  • Anyone and everyone who humored me by answering my stock question, “So what fun things have you been doing at the conference?”

I still need to get in and clean up some of the pictures on Flickr, add some descriptions, remove the really poor ones, and fill in some names.  Maybe I will have a chance to do that next week when I head to lovely Dublin, Ohio to spend some time with other WebJunction community partners playing in the new WJ sandbox.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

