Vermont Department of Libraries

July 27, 2007

Catching up online

Filed under: DOL Technology News, Online Resources — vtdeptlib @ 12:40 pm

I am frantically multi-tasking, but loving it because I can play with fun toys.

MultitaskingAs I write this text, I am also listening to/viewing the WebJunction Webinar on Core Competencies for Library Staff.  It actually took place on July 25, but there is a recorded version available through a link on this page: http://vt.webjunction.org/do/DisplayContent?id=17556

It took a little while to be patient and let the presentation proceed on its own, but now that I have stopped trying to push my way through the navigation, I am sitting back and just letting it run.  Since I can pause the recording, I can still answer my phone or take a break. 

I will definitely be going back for future WJ webinars.  The list of upcoming and archived (recorded) webinars can be found at this URL: http://vt.webjunction.org/do/Navigation?category=15543

The other online session that I am now listening to (while also eating lunch) is the recording of last night’s session of “Uncontrolled Vocabulary.”  By its own description it is a “weekly live discussion of news, trends and topics in librarianship.” For more info, visit the website at http://uncontrolledvocabulary.blogspot.com

Uncontrolled Vocabulary PlaybackOn this website, you will find a gadget that plays the most recently recorded session, which is probably the simplest way to get a taste of Uncontrolled Vocabulary (the blog also provides instructions about how to listen to the program live).  It is definitely more on the edge than WJ webinars and comes with a definite point of view from the participants.

The reason that I am finding it fun so far is that the participants clearly spend a lot of time keeping up on hot or simply curious topics in librarianship (via the web), so after listening to it I feel a little less out of it in comparison to the apparent movers and shakers of the library world.  Sometimes I get lost when the casual nature of the conversation doesn’t give me enough back-story to follow the conversation, but if I am intrigued by the conversation, the blog has links to the source materials.  It makes for an intriguing path to take in my meanderings in the name of professional awareness.

If any of you out there are keeping up with things by similar means, we would love to hear from you in the comments.  Also, if you are experiencing any barriers in taking advantage of these opportunities or similar online content, we’d be interested in hearing about that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

